Steering committee

A steering committee sets the political guidelines and is responsible for the overall strategic governance of the Working Group. It comprises one representative of each FriEnt member organisation.

Two chairs are elected by the steering committee and represent it between Meetings.

Member Organisation


Acting Member

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Dr. Thomas Helfen
Head of Division
Peace and Security; Disaster Risk Management

Hannah Wirtzfeld
Division Peace and Security; Disaster Risk Management


Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Joachim Fritz
Head of Department 
Governance and Conflict

Dr. Klaus Schreiner
Head of Section Reconstruction and Peace

Bread for the World

Dr. Julia Duchrow
Head of Division Human Rights and Peace 

Andreas Dieterich
Department Human Rights and Peace

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES)

Jochen Steinhilber
Head of Division Global Policy and Development

Bodo Schulze
Department Eastern Africa

Misereor / Catholic Central Agency for Development Aid

Michael Hippler
Head of Department Katholische Zentralstelle

Ulrich Füsser
Head of Department Asia

Civil Peace Service Group (CPS)

Martin Vehrenberg
Deputy Managing Director, AGEH 

Bernd Rieche
Action Committee
Service for Peace

German Platform for Peaceful Conflict Management /
Institute for Development and Peace (INEF)

Wolfgang Heinrich
Action Committee Service for Peace

Dr. Cornelia Ulbert
Executive Director, INEF